The Deming MainStreet quarterly newsletter reports that Deming/Luna County MainStreet…
Totsie Slover… and MainStreet’s Design Committee Chairman Jim Reedy were recently honored by the Historic Preservation Division of the New Mexico State Department of Cultural Affairs for work on the historic telephone building in the 200 block of South Gold in downtown Deming.
The Deming Telephone Building, owned by Slover which now houses Deming Realty Company, was built between 1908 and 1913. Officials believe it was “slip covered” – or given a new look – in the 1960s and 70s.
When Reedy found historic photographs of the building, he approached Slover about removing the slip cover.
Slover reportedly allowed Reedy and his group – dubbed “The Façade Squad” -- a preliminary look beneath the faux board-and-batten façade, and was pleased with the original look of the building. They continued to unveil the original building front, which is being touted as an “architectural gem” and an example of what grassroots preservation can accomplish in a small community.
Last year’s award-winning efforts included restoration work on the Mimbres Valley Brewing Company building
on the corner of Gold and Spruce.